skip to Main Content

Kingston Chamber Orchestra Concert Saturday July 16th 2022

Saturday July 16th at 7.30pm

All Saints Church - Market Place, Kingston upon Thames KT2 6AB 7.30pm

Conductor: Andy Meyers Leader: Emily Earl
Piano: Jinah Shim

Cui – Suite Op.43
Saint-Saëns – Piano Concerto No. 2 Op.22
Zagorac – Dawn (First Performance)
Mozart – Symphony No. 41 ‘Jupiter’

Tickets: Adults £15 on the door or £13 Online (under 18s Free)
Ticket includes a programme and a glass of wine

A New Dawn
The next Kingston Chamber Orchestra concert will feature a new work – Dawn,
written for the orchestra by the young composer Leo Zagorac. This piece was
due to be premiered in the June 2020 concert that was cancelled due to ‘lockdown’
so the orchestra are very pleased that we are now able to perform it. Leo,
a former music scholar at Emanuel School is in his 2nd year at South College,
Durham, studying Music. As a composer at the Junior department of the
Guildhall School of Music & Drama, Leo had two of his pieces selected for in
orchestral workshops and he was awarded the Environ Composition Prize.
Dawn depicts the image of a sunrise, from its first amber hues that appear through the darkness of
the night, to the golden rays that herald the grandeur of the fully risen sun. Leo says that the music
is heavily inspired by French impressionist composers, such as Maurice Ravel and Claude
British-Korean pianist Jinah Shim will play Saint-Saëns’ intriguing 2nd piano
concerto that starts with a striking opening that could have been written by Bach
and finishes with some stunning virtuosity. Jinah was Chandos Young Musician
of the Year in 2011 and more recently she has won the Christopher Duke
International Piano Competition, the Alexander Kelly Concerto Competition, the
John Longmire Competition and the Alfred Kitchin Piano Competition. Notable
past performances include performing concertos with London Mozart Players as
well as directing Mozart’s Piano Concerto No.12 from the piano with Birmingham
Junior Chamber Orchestra, aged 18.
César Cui is the lesser-known composer of the group known as ‘The Mighty Handful’ who made it
their mission to develop a Russian style of composition. Balakirev, Borodin, Musorgsky, and
Rimsky-Korsakov reached far dizzier heights of fame but nevertheless, the suite Op.43 by Cui is a
very charming and melodic work that deserves a performance.
The concert will conclude with Mozart’s masterful 41st Symphony. It earned the nickname
‘Jupiter‘ from the London impresario Salomon as he thought that the work was the pinnacle of all
instrumental composition. Many agree and it is definitely a piece to send you away feeling
optimistic about the future.

Back To Top